PBL Reflection #4- The Role of Facilitator

My role as a teacher when incorporating PBL into my classroom will definitely change, and I believe it will be a change for the better. I have always been a person that likes to feel in control, and I will have to let go of some of that control when bringing PBL into my curriculum. In PBL, the teacher takes on more of a guidance role and allows the student to assume more control over their own learning. The teacher must be able to offer help as needed, but should provide students with opportunities to choose their own learning structure. This is a great way for students to learn because it is exactly what they are going to have to do when they leave school. They will not always have someone there to instruct them in their learning or decision making. It will be up to them to figure out on their own, and I believe PBL can give them the skills necessary to do this.

Leave a Reply

