Relative Advantage of Using the Basic Suite in Learning

I have used various forms of word processors, spreadsheets, and presentation software throughout my education experience as a student and a teacher. Throughout my high school and the majority of my undergraduate experience, I used Microsoft Office software. Towards the end of my undergraduate studies, I was introduced to Google Suite, and that is what I choose to use in my classroom now. There are many advantages to using Google Docs, Slides, Sheets, and Forms.

Roblyer states that “teachers choose [these tools] not only because they have qualities that aid classroom instruction and help make classroom time more productive, but also because they give students experience with 21st-century tools that they will see again and again in their workplaces” (2016, p. 109). I believe this statement to be very true. Even greater than the many advantages that this software can bring to classroom management and instruction, is the advantage of preparing students to be successful in the future. Students are going to see and use these tools again upon graduation and being familiar with them will allow students to be competitive in the business world.

Another important advantage that Google Apps offers is that of teamwork. The Google Suite offers many features for collaboration. Those features allow students to work together in real-time, which fosters teamwork and problem-solving skills. The ability to work with others is another key aspect to being successful in today’s society (Regis, 2015, para. 6).

In my classroom, the use of Google Apps has helped me be more organized and productive. I am able to keep better records, communicate with students, staff, and parents, and work from anywhere. My students are also more organized and have access to their assignments outside of the classroom. The appearance of my students’ work is also significantly improved when they use basic suite software. I do not have to struggle through trying to decipher some of their handwriting, which makes my job a lot easier. The use of Google Apps in the classroom simplifies many of the mundane tasks teachers must do, and allows teachers to spend more time focusing on instruction and their students.

Resources

Regis, Devin. (2015, January). The benefits of google for education in higher ed. Retrieved from http://www.universitybusiness.com/article/benefits-google-education-higher-ed

Roblyer, M. D. (2016). Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching (7th ed.). Massachusetts: Pearson.

2 thoughts on “Relative Advantage of Using the Basic Suite in Learning

  1. I agree with you completely. The tight integration of Google apps make the paper trail go away. Do you find any negatives with using Google instead of traditional methods or a different suite? I find the loading of assignments slows down this part of the process versus traditional paper hand-ins. I also find Microsoft to still have more powerful software but Googles tight integration makes it work better in school settings. Thanks for the read.

    Like

    1. I agree I also prefer Microsoft, but because Google apps is free, my school has tried to integrate Google over Microsoft. Loading assignments can take time, but my students do not often have to load them because they create them within the apps to begin with. The other problem I have run into at times is those students that do not have Internet access at home have difficulty always using Google apps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

