Tech Trends

Classroom Blog

Lesson Plan 

This assignment was my favorite of the course thus far. I really enjoyed the freedom to explore technology and create something to use in my classroom. I am really excited to try my artifact out with my students. I originally planned on creating something using Google Apps, but I kept feeling like I wanted to do more so I went back to the drawing board. I have always been intrigued by blogging, and I wish I was one of those creative people that can make money from blogging. As it turns out, there are many ways to incorporate blogging into education. I have done some research on blogging in the classroom and have discovered that blogs are a great tool for students to use. Blogs allow students some creative freedom. They also allow students to reach a worldwide audience, learn online etiquette, and create a positive digital footprint.

For my artifact, I chose to create a blog for my classroom. I chose to use Blogger because it is connected to my G-mail account, which is what I use for school, and all the students have G-mail accounts. I still wanted to incorporate an aspect using Google Apps, so I included a Google Calendar, Google Doc, and Google Sheet on my blog. I also used Screencast-O-Matic to create a video tutorial showing my students how to create their own blog. I wanted to show how I would use and incorporate the blog and my students’ blogs into my classroom, so I also created a lesson plan and posted an assignment for students on the blog. The lesson plan uses another technology I have found to be really fun and great for students to use: Adobe Voice. My lesson plan and the blog post explain what this app is all about and shows an example of what it can do.

I think different aspects of my artifact reach different levels of the SAMR model. The use of Google Apps fits in the Augmentation category as it is simply another way for students to view information and complete a task, but with a few added features. The assignment for students to write a blog post reaches the Modification level because their writing will reach a much wider audience than would be otherwise possible. Finally, I believe the assignments for my students’ to create their own blog and an Adobe Voice presentation reach the Redefinition level. Each of these tasks would be impossible without technology. These tasks allow students to be create something new and are different from what they normally do in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

